Laws are constantly changing throughout America. So, what is the latest on Wisconsin marijuana laws? Continue reading to find out.
Is It Legal?
Marijuana is still illegal for recreational use in Wisconsin. Therefore, if you are caught in the possession, sale, delivery, or production of marijuana, you could face harsh consequences.
If you are caught in possession of marijuana, you could face either a misdemeanor or a felony charge, depending on if it is your first offense. If it is, you will be charged with a misdemeanor, face six months of jail time, and a maximum of $1,000 fine. If it is not your first offense, rather your second or third, you will face a felony charge, 3.5 years of jail time, and a maximum of $10,000 fine.
Sale or Delivery
Penalties for the sale or delivery of marijuana are determined based on the amount of drug that is distributed. For example, if you were to distribute 200g or less, you would be charged with a felony, face 3.5 years of jail time, and a maximum of a $10,000 fine.
The consequences of producing marijuana are based on how many plants you develop. If you have four plants or less, you face a felony charge, 3.5 years in prison, and up to a $10,000 fine.
If you or a loved one is facing a marijuana charge, you should contact an experienced criminal attorney as soon as possible. This charge could be life-altering. It could affect your ability to get specific jobs or live in particular housing. Please do not wait until it starts to affect your daily life. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 608-729-4756.