The age of consent and statutory rape in Wisconsin

The topic of consent may be more common and better understood in recent years as the media and the #metoo movement have raised awareness about its importance. 

According to World Population Review, all state laws include statutory rape definitions that allow people to have consensual sex only if they are above a certain age. In Wisconsin, young people need to understand that even with the consent of a partner, having sex in high school may be breaking the law. explains that in many states, the age of consent is 16, but in Wisconsin, it is 18 years old. 

Some states have a so-called Romeo and Juliet law that allows young people to have consensual sex if they are close in age and one or both of them are below the age of consent, but Wisconsin does not. Even if both parties involved are under the age of 18, the act is still illegal, as the law does not consider either of them to be old enough to give consent. 

Although it is not likely that two people who are under the age of 18 may both face statutory rape charges, it could happen. However, it is more likely that someone who is 18 could face charges if he or she is dating someone one or two years younger, or even a few months younger. The charges and the consequences of a conviction vary depending on how old each party is. 

The only time when it is legal for someone who is 16 or 17 years old to have sex is if he or she is married. There is no other exemption.